Zucchini Bread

IMG_9612IMG_9610

While pregnant with my oldest daughter, something horrific and devastating happened to me…  The most wicked sweet tooth emerged and has plagued me ever since.  And in fact, my second pregnancy only heightened my intense urge for baked goods.  I have always loved to bake and was raised in a family that relished their sweet endings to a meal.  Before I had my girls, I could take a couple of bites and be satisfied.  But now, my life somehow would seem incomplete without those sweet, delectable morsels…

Partly to rationalize my dessert inclination, I often will mix veggies and fruits into my baked goods.  Doesn’t the addition of zucchini make the bread healthy?!  🙂  Okay, so I’m not truly disillusioned to actually believe that the sweet bites miraculously become healthy and wholesome, but I do think it softens the blow.  🙂  And I do feel better serving it to my kids.

I made and ate so much zucchini bread while pregnant with Alex that it has actually taken me 4 years to be able to look at it again.  This is no joke, I am actually completely serious.  Four months x 2 loaves of zucchini bread per month = zucchini bread overdose.  I only count 4 months because I truly did eat so much of it that I couldn’t even eat it for the rest of the pregnancy.  And you should remember that this was a time before children, with my veggie-detecting husband, so I was completely on my own to enjoy every delicious morsel.

Anyhow, four years later with a very healthy garden bountiful with zucchini, I am now back in the zucchini bread saddle.  This bread is not too sweet and you can still see the green flecks of zucchini, which I think is really pretty.  My favorite thing to do is eat it when it’s still a little warm with some butter and the top is still a bit crunchy from the oven.  Mmmm….  Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 C. butter, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/4 C. sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 . whole wheat flour (I use the white whole wheat)
  • 1 1/2 C. all purpose flour
  • 3 C. grated zucchini
  • 1 C. chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter and flour 2 8 x 5 bread pans.

Cream butter and sugar together.  Add eggs, one at a time and combine thoroughly.  Add salt, vanilla, baking powder and baking soda and combine.  Scrape down sides of bowl and mix thoroughly.

Add flour, one cup at a time, mixing and scraping down sides after each one.  Add zucchini last.

Bake for about 40-60 minutes.  Why the broad time frame?  Begin checking the bread at 40 minutes, but expect that it won’t be done.  If the center looks very jiggly, expect another 10 minutes.  At that point, insert a toothpick into the center.  If it comes out clean, it’s done.  If there is any wet batter on the toothpick, it will only need another couple of minutes.  This is what the toothpick should look like when it “comes out clean”:

IMG_9608

Leave a Reply

